A few things about me

I happen to possess a full head of scantly (as my nigerian braider defined it) distributed, off-black nappy hair, with which I have a love-hate relationship.

A few years ago, I decided I had had enough of permed (chemically altered) hair and thanks to www.nappturality.com I joined the nappy hair club. Fast forward to 5+years, 2 perms, numerous hair cuts and finally to today. I woke up, went to work, came home and cut off my hair, yet again. I seem to go through a phase each year where I just have to cut my hair. I am now of the firm opinion that the lenght (or rather height given that napps grow up instead of down) at which it is now, best suits me, both in its shrunken form and stretched out. I am very pleased and mostly that I did the job myself.

Off to another topic.

Big Al and I are looking for a gym, actually we have found one. The sales rep was really good and like all people who make the effort to speak to me in English here in Denmark, she's in my good books. She went through the whole sales pitch and blah blah …. It got interesting when she said we get to measure our body fat. Big Al got on first and came out with a staggering 24% body fat and I was smugly looking on thinking to myself  "well done girl less than 25% for you" Next was my turn so I confidently jumped on the machine and sales rep punches in all the numbers… wait for it, wait for it…. ati 39.5% body fat!!! :-O

The whole thing was just so outrageous I did not and cannot even get annoyed. See I am totally convincied the machine has a big prob. When it asked for "type of body" sales rep entered "standard female body". Now I am a tall girl. I stand 5feet 10inches and a half… tall. My frame is not exactly Naomi Campbell nor is it Serena Williams… ok maybe it is… … but that is besides the point 39.5% body fat and to think I had said to her I only want to lose 5kilos…..

As far as I am concerned. THE MACHINE LIED! tosha gari! (nuff said)

Comments on: "Hair today:Weighty Matters" (2)

  1. This is funny:) You know the machine never lies πŸ™‚

    Now that you have described yourself, any chance of giving me the password to the photos (I tried with no luch πŸ™‚

  2. I’m also a member of the ‘nappy hair club!’ I went natural a few years ago after dealing with damage from chemicals and overbraiding. What matters in the end is what style suits you and your lifestyle. All the best with the gym work-out.

Leave a Reply

