A few things about me

Beautiful Day!

It's a beautiful today… here in Denmark. The sun is out, a lovely 22 degrees Celcius. Town is buzzing with all the young ones, walking around in skimpy little clothes (I shudder for thier future)… I am out and about . Even the wind, which if you did not know, is a substantial part of Danish weather, is nice and warm… all in all.. in the words of U2 "its a beautiful day"

My search for an African Salon has begun.It does not even have to be owned by an AFrican. All I need is a salon with a person who HAS experience of braiding.  I am obsessed with my hair. Right now, I am not feeling my hair at all. I already cut it short, and if I do not get it braided, then I am possibly going to cut it shorter because it is driving me insane. Every frigging time I have to comb it, there is loads and loads of hair everywhere.. and that I cannot absolutely stand… so I am forced to begin my search… Lord only knows where I will find one!

 Important developments regarding my relocation and intergration.

1. I am able to take the bus to and from home to the 3 towns surrounding the boondoos I live in.

2. I opened a bank account in fact 2 accounts. Ok so the first one does not count cause it was just about adding my name, but I sucessfully opened the second one and though the ka-man was an annoying little prick… and as a result I am going to close my account there and open it else where just to prove a point…. I have managed to get that done. My todo list of official stuff is decreasing.

3. I got all my very important numbers sorted out. FACT: Any persons entering Denmark (or returning to Denmark after years absence) is not allowed to access free medical care for a period of six weeks. It made me think of all those………in UK who come for holiday and in the process get heart bypasses etc… no can do here!!

4: I think I have the driving thing under control. In Kenya and Uganda we drive on the left  and my thinking was big deal drving on the right, as long as one can drive, that is all that matters… woi… was I ever so wrong. The first day I had to drive… that is another blog post all of its own. Anyway, I have cracked it. Only thing is Big Al is still holding his breath while I drive.. … I guess its a man thing ๐Ÿ™‚

The next task in language school… God help me.

These little 4 things are soooo important to me because ofof independence and personal control they are allow me.  If anyone says to me I have to move again in the next 5 to 10 years.. ………

On an independent note.. I was watching Beyonce aka my girl!! and she was talking about the ka-song "Independent Women" …you know that song which was like the theme song for Charlies Angels the movie….. and I was feeling kinda low juu ya the relocation and all that….and I coined my ka-version

Independent Women (original version)
The shoes on my feet
The clothes I'm wearin
I've got it
The rock I'm rockin
I've got it
'Cause I depend on me
If I wanted
The watch you're wearin
I'll buy it
The house I live in
I've got it
The car I'm drivin
I've bought it
I depend on me
(I depend on me)

2 –
All the women who are independent
Throw your hands up at me
All the honeys who makin money
Throw your hands up at me
All the mommas who profit dollas
Throw your hands up at me
All the ladies who truly feel me
Throw your hands up at me

"Dependent Women"

The shoes on my feet / he bought them

The clothes I'm wearing /he bought them

The rock I am rocking/ he got them

Cause I depend on him

If I wanted the watch you're wearing /He'll buy it

the house I live in/he bought it

The car I'm driving/he bought it

Cause I depend on him!!

2. All the women who depending /throw your hand up at me

All the honeys with no money / throw your hands at me

All the mommas who profit dollas / throw your hands at me

All the ladies who truly feel me

THROW YOUR HANDS AT ME!!

have a brilliant independent day ๐Ÿ˜€

Comments on: "Beautiful Day!" (6)

  1. LMAO! Now this song will be singing in my head all day. thanx

  2. acolyte said:

    Good luck finding an African salon!

  3. Caribbeanchyck said:

    Hi There!

    This is my first time reading your blog, but I am beaming with joy that you have made such a huge step in your life by relocating some place not familiar to you. I’m a natural black woman too, and I happened upon a London-based Black Hair Style Guide magazine that listed a natural hair salon in Denmark whose owner has to be from Ghana and her hair looks fabulous. Here’s the link to her site, and I do hope that her salon is near you to visit, and get a consultation, and get that Independent Woman’s Do style, coiffed and looking fabulous!

    http://www.barikisu.com/

    Ashe

  4. Caribbeanchyck,
    I did find her as well and is a possible candidate, only thing is she is way tooo far from where I live, about 3 hrs by train or bus…. thanks though.

  5. May I ask a question Mrembo. what does mrembo mean? It is swahili right?

  6. Yes “Mrembo” is a swahili word that means “beautiful one” lol…..

Leave a Reply

