A few things about me

Good old Uganda

It’s been 8 days and today is my last night is this lovely, hot, dusty city of ours!

What do I say and where do I begin..  words are tripping over in my head trying to get themselves in order.

Some things have changed some have not. If you have never been to Uganda and are thinking that UG is a little like Kenya, you have it all wrong. Every time I came into Uganda from Kenya, my feelings were and still are that Uganda is one big, unplanned village. This is the country where city planning just does not happen or work. What the British colonialist left them days is still what we have and then some crazy ass development that leaves you mind boggled.

The roads are horrendous.. that just does not even begin to describe it.. bad bad roads.. nothing new there. Petrol is so bloody expensive.  A liter of unleaded is going for Ugshs 2250 (USD$ 1=Ugshs 1850). Dad was telling me that when the price per barrel went up, the prices at the pump stayed the same, which means the fuel companies are milking drivers dry.

The politics is horrible. I try to stay away from that stuff.. yes I am aware of what is going but chose not to discuss it here.

On a positive note, the food, the glorious food! I have been eating like a fool. The people, my old friends (whom I thank God for)… I could move back here in a heart beat..not a word of a lie. My peers are doing well. Corporate Uganda is a tricky place, however there is quiete a lot of work available. Things look bad and yet at the same time things are kinda improving…. sorta!! everyone I talk to tells me not to come back home for good, that there is nothing here and I keep trying to tell them that there are two types of Africans in the disapora, those who leave and sever ties with their home and those like me, who seem to have one foot in the disapora and another back home.  I guess I need to work on that and decide once and for all where I shall be.

So as you can probably tell, I am really happy to be here and could stay here longer. I travel to Nairobi tomorrow and spend a few days before heading back to…..Denmark (yuck!)

I will be responding to the comments on previous posts soon. For now… I gotta go see about a choclate cake from Cafe Puff, best black forest ever… so far!

Comments on: "Good old Uganda" (8)

  1. mwariwadavid said:

    Sasa Mrembo,

    That you noticed Ug has good food, and i should add healthy. Unplanned it might be but i credit for several things:
    -Kampala is very clean, no garbage lying around
    -No crime- you can stroll in town even late in the night and no one will harm you. The security guards are all armed
    -People are very courteous- when they accidentally bump into your shoulder they stop to apologise

    Their roads might be dustier but they have a few things right

    Mwariwadavid
    http://mwariwadavid.wordpress.com/

  2. mwariwadavid said:

    Sasa Mrembo,

    good that you noticed Ug has good food, and i should add healthy. Unplanned it might be but i credit for several things:
    -Kampala is very clean, no garbage lying around
    -No crime- you can stroll in town even late in the night and no one will harm you. The security guards are all armed
    -People are very courteous- when they accidentally bump into your shoulder they stop to apologise

    Their roads might be dustier but they have a few things right

    Mwariwadavid
    http://mwariwadavid.wordpress.com/

  3. the food is great!

    the roads, especially the city network-well there’s no network to to talk about. when you are stuck in a jam, there is no way out, no right turn or left turn around the corner to avoid a jam.
    even on Saturday you get stuck in the traffic jam for hours- someone has to do some urgent planning for that city.

  4. mwiraria is just another self hating kenyan . just accept mrembo facts ignorance oof people who havent travelled is so evident .am sure nairobi has is pluses and minus just like newyork london and paris so accept ug is not like kenya and move on . i suggest you do some travelling you will realise nairobi isnt that bad

  5. Kampala is without doubt a very nice place. I also put it down to people generally being very polite as well as Kampala being quite clean. The transport infrastructure is not as good as it could been, but if you have every been to the UK you know where it all came from. Brits should never have been allowed the profession of city planning or builders (that doesn’t explain the growing number of pot holes in KLA though).

    The food…well…matoke is nice…pork is nice…. ugali..please no..not in the great amounts that Ugandan can eat…. I find the Tanzania cuisine to be far superior to both the Ugandan and Kenyan.

    Just a few more years in Denmark Mrembo… you can do it…. 🙂

  6. Mwariwadavid,
    You probably misunderstond my post and being a “lets bash Uganda” post. If that is the message that came across, then I failed in my writing. Kampala and it surburbs are what they are. The lack of tarmac and planning in the surburbs is a serious issue that needs to be dealt with.

    AK, I so feel you on the traffic jam. I actually started leaving town bya4.00pm to beat the traffic. However the good thing is the presence of the tired looking traffic police does help the traffic does move.

    Mzalendo: aieh, those were many big words you have uttered towards Mwariwadavid…I allow people to express thier opinions, lakini when it degenartes into name calling and insults I draw the line there… so thou should desist for that expecially if you are commenting on MY BLOG!

    Big Al:
    Hey babe.. you, me and Mel… one love forever.. be it Kenya, Uganda, or Denmark (ikes)!!!! So food in TZ was that good. Forgot to tell you I had pork the last night in Kampala… was very very good!!!!

  7. I have very fond memories of Uganda, especially all the bananas and fresh fish. What I really really disliked was that insane craze of putting groundnut sauce on everything!!!

    And by the way that individual passing themselves off as ‘mzalendo’ and using the mzalendo.com url have absolutely nothing to do with the site. Shame on you whoever you are!

  8. Forgive the typos… I can actually spell!

Leave a Reply

