A few things about me

Karibu Kenya!!

Finally, I have been able to get a minute (and been patient enough  to wait for the page to load) to say something about Nairobi.

It is absolutely wonderful to be here. The weather is just right given that the cold season has recently ended so its not too hot or too cold, though it does get cold in the evening. The city is very clean, compared to the last time I was here in Feb 2006. I was told there was some big Mayors conference and Nairobi was cleaned up nice.

I have been up and about in the city center, and outer surburbs. Like any other city, Nairobi is growing and changing a lot. There are hundreds and hundreds of flats/apartments coming up and they do look very nice. Those in the Lavington, Hurlingham, Westlands sides of town are going for about 5-6million Kenya Shillings. Those in Riverside are going for slightly more. The words “holiday home” are ringing in my ears.. I need to get my behind employed pronto!!! East, west home is best and the sooner I get my “ka-holiday home”, the better! 

I don’t know what more to say except, Nairobi is good. I am having a good time and nope I have not yet taken pictures…

Only down side is the carjackings and accompanying rapes.. that shit is scary as hell, I am afraid to move around after 6.00pm… paranoia at its best, but hey…

That’s  all from me from sunny Nairobi.

laters.

Comments on: "Karibu Kenya!!" (9)

  1. Do have a lovely stay here Mrembo.

  2. Half 'n' Half said:

    Indeed karibu Kenya. And PS, after 6.00 pm its okay to move out, the only thing is to watch where you move. Otherwise our kenyan motto is: Jienjoi

  3. “The weather is just right given that the cold season has recently ended so its not too hot or too cold”

    Are we living in the same Nairobi? The past two afternoons have been really really hot and dry.

  4. Good to hear that you made it in one piece!By all means enjoy yourself just take adequate precautions!

  5. I am green with envy…have fun!!

  6. Hey girl, a little bird told me you were in town… enjoy the stay and take care of you.

    PS, I also ‘heard’ you were looking for me. Vraiment touche (sorry, too lazy to do the accent thing). There was a time there when I was drowning in ‘things to do’ and still whacking myself over the head every once in a while for not having blogged.

    So, one day I decided to quit putting pressure on myself … and I did. I miss it sometimes though. Maybe someday soon I’ll be back.

  7. Aww! you guys, I am feeling mingi love from all of you. Thanks for the makaribisho. I am truly enjoying my time here, trying to pretend ati it will not be over in a few days…….

    69mb: Thing is I just came from Kampala and was still used to the heat there, so IN GENERAL Nairobi has felt much cooler.. but I do agree that the past two days were kinda hot.. today is lovely though.. ama??

    Princess: your time will come soon!

    Rombo: Good to hear you are well and fine!!

    Today I am going to zurura (loiter) around Ngongo Road and see all the new shopping centers around there. I also want to go towards Karen, was being told things there have changed alot.

  8. I’ve got to get myself to Kampala if that’s what it takes to get used to this heat.

    I think today has been worse since I’m wearing lighter clothing and still Its unbearable. I think I might have to petition my boss to let me come in a pair of bermuda shorts, tshirt (no, vest) and slippers tomorrow if this keeps up.

    cheers

  9. your attitude towards Nairobi is as fresh and sunny as the month of December … it makes my heart glow and my brain to think of butterflies, angels and rainbows … sincerely it was such a delightful reading that it has made me go poetic and all … keep that healthy attitude for moi!

Leave a Reply

