A few things about me

Mishmash

  • I may never write the way I want to write, and that’s ok. In spite of that, I know good writing when I read it and I know bad writing too. It is the latter that I stumbled upon and all I can think is ick, ick ick! The author was a member of a particular discussion board that I am a member of and had plugged her book. Then one day I stumbled on a thread about her book and the accolades that followed so thought, “hmm I should get the book and see what it’s all about”. My first delivery from Amazon came through and voila there it was. Woi Woi Woooi!, the book is not mzuri at all!!. The general plot is actually very good, but the sentences, the dialogue, just about everything else is wrong. She writes the way I write my novels and its just so juvenile.
    Last night I puzzled over what made her book a “woi woi wooii” one and makes some Sandra Brown, David Morrell etc etc books “fantabulous”. Apart from an incredibly credible plot, character development and pacing are the key ingredients! In my opinion, she failed to adequately introduce the characters and develop them before thrusting them together. Hence we are thrown straight into thier “meeting” without really knowing who they are. And we get to learn about them as they talk to each other. Yuck!!
  • As writer don’t be so obvious with your”messages” a-la Perry Tyler movies (woi category of thier own). If you are going to write and want to preach, do it more suavely than have the character preach to the other ick ick ick! I hate that in movies and I hate that in books. Especially when it is so obvious.

On to “Boston Legal”. I am loving loving it. Denny Crane & Alan Shore are my new heroes, but the bulk of my admiration goes to the script writers. They do a superbly fantastic job. The lines Denny comes up with are so non PC I they tickle me silly. The “preaching” is on point and many times though presented in a comedic way, it is food for thought. I don’t know that this stay at home mommy is going to do when the show comes to an end here in Denmark.

My tv watching is limited to:

  • Boston Legal (daily at 11.00am)
  • Cosby Show (daily at 9.25am)
  • Oprah (on daily, but not necessarily watched daily)
  • Project Runway season 3 (daily at 8.00pm) it’s about to end. Has run for about 3 weeks. What shall I do when it ends??!
  • Ugly Betty (Wednesdays at 8.35.. but Project Runway has taken over)
  • Biggest Loser (Wednesday’s repeat on Sunday at 5.00pm)
  • CNN & BBC (best shows on CNN are Richard Quest shows, Inside Africa & Sanjay Gupta’s stuff and some Insider Story)
  • House (it was on at some impossible time like 10.00pm and by then Mrembo and baby are sleeping. Now it is on at 8.00pm on Wednesdays but Project Runway is on.. what’s a girl to do? And there are no repeats…shenzi people!)

And that’s about it.

A good novel is like a cold sweating Fanta on a hot & humid Ugandan day. The anticipation as you watch the beads of cold water run down the bottle. You pick up up to open and its cool against your grubby hands. You pour it into the long glass and listen as the fiz pops and while they still pop you lift it to your mouth and aah! glory! Nothing like a cold fanta! That’s how the first few pages of a good book should be like. Sweet!

Comments on: "Mishmash" (1)

  1. I’m with you on Boston Legal.

    I absolutely love the conservative vs liberal sparring between Denny and Alan against the background of their unorthodox male friendship with sleepovers and all.

    Alan Shore is sooo David E. Kelley on a soapbox and why lie, I’m a fan of David E. Kelley.

    Rombo, imagine they suddenly took the show off the air! So what’s a girl to do. I miss my daily BL fix!. This David Kelley guy, first time I heard of him was when I was surfing for info about Boston Legal.. was surprised that he was the same guy who did the Calista Flockhart show.. never did get into that at all….

Leave a Reply

