A few things about me

Magazines

The coconut cake is baking in the oven, tonight is take-out night, tomorrow’s Saturday, I am rested, relaxed and chilled… so what better way than to talk about my passion

Cakes and Magazines (plus novels and chips!… I can live on chips (as in french fries) year in year out!). Before we had our son I used to spend on magazines like crazy. Every kind you could think of, from the gossip weeklies to News Week. When we moved out of our first property in England, I was embarrassed by the amount of magazines I had to throw out.. must have weighed like a ton and that was just for that year. I then made the conscious effort to cut back on my purchases by being more discriminating. That I did.. though I still spent an obscene amount. Then we moved to Denmark.

Denmark meant one income, 25% VAT and bloody expensive magazines, especially the English ones. For x-mas ’06 hubby got me a year’s subscription to Oprah and I tried tried to cut back on buying magz. I was down to buying about 1 or 2 magz a month.  Then my danish got better and I was able to read more and more and slowly I have started buying them again. In a way I am OK with buy the Danish ones because I feel I get to learn more about Danish culture and all the stuff you can’t really get to know by asking someone. I have been sucked into the Royal family and tend to buy the tabloid that focuses on Royals around Europe. (me thinks Princess Mary of Denmark has the most X-factor of any current royal).

I have lost track as to why I started this post about magazines.

Anyway… I am now more discriminating about what I buy. I don’t buy Oprah anymore because it’s the same articles over and over.. though I am getting the one with Mrs O on the cover. (I love all things Mrs O, I even bought this months Vouge which had her on) Vogue is one mag I just never could get into. A lot of the magazines repeat stuff over and over. No there is no one true diet, no there is no secret to dressing this way or that way and no there is not hottest must have item because next month there is another and another and another you get the drift. Mostly I now buy for the feature articles or interviews.

Now I remember why I started this post. It was about fashion and mags. Was it last year I decided to be more stylish and pay closer attention to what I was wearing. I think it was. The result of that is that I have become more aware of the fashion pages in magazines. Especially the African mags. (Every time I travel which is not so often or when hubby is in UG or KE, I make sure he gets me all the African Woman Magazines and True Love East AFrica that he can lay his hands on). The fashion pages just drive me wild with glee and happiness. Just to see beautiful gorgeous AFrican women and to read issues from the AFrican woman’s perspective, the interviews… My True Loves never get thrown out.

As to whether I have implemented what I am learning about fashion is another story all together. Being stylish is hard work and high maintenance. To have your hair looking ish means work every morning and night (which I am not into and never have been into). Dressing stylish means spending a certain amount on clothes and clothes shopping and being aware of what matches what in your wardrobe (which is hard work because I buy what I like, I do not stop to think… “this will go with this.. if I buy this, what will I wear it with”). I am a jeans girl. Always have been. I could live in jeans year in year out. Right now I have so many.

A few weeks ago I was feeling, ugly, dowdy, unfeminine and plain FUGLY, so I convinced my hubby to use his pay pal account to buy me some jeans I had seen on www. pzijeans.com. I came about that site after deciding that it was not me who had the problem but the fashion industry. Their narrowmindedness totally ignores a whole market of women, hence I googled “jeans for curves” and hey presto. I even got SKINNY JEANS and I look hot. Hubby thinks I look hot! I got three pairs (not all skinny) at a very good price (even with the taxes added that I had to pay prior to collection the post office)

Talking of post office I must give a shout out to Kenya Post and Telecommunications.  Whenever mum and sis send me slow mail (usually pictures from all the family gatherings/events I am missing) I get them within 3 days. This has happened 3 times in a row and I am like… woha! If they send the stuff Monday… lastest Thursday I have it here.

With that note, I want to share this website with you. I am not sure who the target market is… but it is certainly not me. I discovered them they intially launched, read them for a while then sorta stopped then today I got an email and …. viola!. The current issue is so not me.. I am not feeling it at all.. hence the comment on target audience. Enjoy www.mimimagazine.com

The cake I baked is one of my best so far. I love to eat cake you have no idea!

PS. I started this post at about 4.30pm It is now 22.39pm.  This is how blogging works these days. I took an oath with myself that my son, my hubby, my school work, my home, my novels come first in that order then blogging. I am so pressed for time these days. I sat down and wrote out what I do every hour of the day and was shocked at how litterally every hour is used on something, so I need to cut back on stuff and that includes the gym until I finish school. That will free up a lot of time for me.

Last tip of the day. A quote from Mrs O.  (I have paraphrased it) She said  she works out is because if makes her feel good and it is important for her daughters that she feels good . Then only will they grow up feeling good about themselves. I so agree about that.

Talking of gyms, I reached my goal weight at the begning of this month (as earlier plegded) . I am so pleased.  I am about 300grm over the target weight. I am now aiming to loose another 2 kgs. My goal is to arrive there through smaller portions. (I say that with doubt given that I had chips/fries for lunch, take out for dinner, cake for dessert… what hope do I have 🙂

Comments on: "Magazines" (3)

  1. Hi Mrembo
    Congratulations on achieving your weight goal! You must be sooooo excited!!!!!

    I agree with you about the Kenyan magazines. They have come a long way. I really liked the True Love when Carol Mandi was the editor. I am not sure how the magazine is now they have changed editors. Carol now has her own TV talk-show on women issues.
    I also like Catherine Masitsa’s mags, Business Woman and Samantha Bridal. Another hot thing in Kenya, editing magazines.
    Next time you or your hubby goes to Kenya, you should check out Oprah’s South African edition of the O mag, it has a completely different feel. I actually liked it much more than the other O. I agree with you the regular O is very predictable, drowning in ads!
    About Mrs. O, she is the epitome of what they call the “momshell” here, much like the yummy mummy in the UK. Have you seen the blog dedicated to her fashion/style, http://www.mrs-o.org?

    Enjoy your weekend!
    ati do I know Mrs-O.org… ofcourse! 🙂 as a dedicated, obsessed fan, I am so in love with that site and Mrs Obama. She is my new body inspiration. With that said I have now got another target weight for June. hehe!! The outfits she has been wearing while on the European tour are killing me, kwanza that JC Penny ensemble… wacha tu. If I lived in the States even me I would be contributing to the sale out of those outfits. I so love that she shops from high street shops and not only designer shops.
    She is my girl but I have to say this. That perm is killing her hairline kabisa. She now needs to think of a way of protecting her hair from all the heat and processing i.e start using akina Tyra and Beyonce kind of wigs ama weaves.. ama just go NATURAL!!

    I have read a few copies of O-South Africa and was not feeling them sana juu ya it was not East African. The East African mags are my absolute favourite.

  2. kenyanreality said:

    Hi Mrembo,

    Congratulations on achieving your target weight!

    Thanks for posting this. I have been postponing decisions on weight loss and getting fit. 😦

    Goodluck with new target weight.

  3. Finally, some 1 who loves Michelle as much as i do. I visit Mrs-O.org like every day just to see what she’s wearing. In addition, there is also http://www.michelleostyle.blogspot.com/

    Nice post. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

