A few things about me

Woes on the Job

For the past two weeks I have been posted at another hospital washing beds and  making beds. I HATE MY JOB. With that out of the way let me proceed.

It’s 06:22 in the morning. I am showered dressed and ready to leave the house. I have had the car since my commute is a little longer and without the car I would not be able to pick Nikh on time from the day care lady. Big Al cycles him to daycare then gets the bus into work. I pick him up in the afternoon. It’s working fine for now. I hate that washing bed thing so much, more than my usual gig which is ironing and folding clothes. At the other place I have my pals, we get a long, there’s lots of people. Here, I work with three other people and they are fine and all.. we just don’t blend, a lack of chemisty.

One of the guys keeps pulling or touch his penis. It is so disgusting and unsightly. And because he keeps using his forefinger and thumb I can’t help thinking “kwani how small is it”🙂 . He keeps adjusting it or them, me I don’t know and it just ugh! yuck! I feel like yelling, keep your hands away from your crotch or do it in private. Or maybe his underpants are tight. Gross!

The other guy is a thug. Walks like one, talks like one, has the air of one. He is the kind of guy I do not want to meet alone. I swear he looks like those rightwing, “keep Denmark white” , I hate all non-white people thugs. We do not talk, he does not talk to me, I do not talk. I can’t even look at  him. He just creeps me out totally.

His mother is my supervisor.. would you believe that. She asked me if I like this new gig, I was like, I would rather go back to my other place. She was not expecting that response and I could see she was taken aback.  I am through with lying to make people feel comfortable. So later she comes back saying, it’s because you don’t smoke and because there are not so many “foreigners” working here as opposed to the other place. I was like “whatever”. Then the ball grabber had been giving me orders and directions all the time. “you gotta straighten out the edeges of the sheet, this is how you do it, blah blah blah, good job, now you just have to be faster.. ” Yesterday I told him off. He started on his orders and I said in my nice polite way with a smile “you’re irritating me with your orders. I know what I am doing and if you want it perfect then stop asking me to worker faster. I have been here 1 week, 3 days. You have been here over a year, lay off with the orders” He was taken aback too. Started saying stuff about just wanted things to look good blah blah blah, I wanted to rid him of his balls. Idiot!

Back from work and continuing this post at 16:00 (Big Al and Nikh are out in town bonding, the roast is in the oven, pototoes await peeling, usual back from work housework awaits.. but I’ll get to that when I am done here)

Yesterday’s word of the day was VUMILIA (persevere). As I worked the only thing I could think was  “I am slowly dying here, I need to get out of this place, I will die in my soul if I keep doing this, I cannot take this any longer”  So that was clear, then I asked myself  “ok then , so you quit your  job then what? What are the alternatives? I came up blank. Job hunting is totally out of the question.

I resolved in myself that I never ever want to be employed by anyone ever again. Me going to work for someone, me begging or hunting for a job is not in the cards. I DON’T WANT TO. I HAVE HAD ENOUGH. So I have been working on something, something that is so long from fruition, I loose hope and I gain hope, all the while working and strategising towards this thing that I am planning on doing. I am scared out of my bones, but fuck that, I tried the employment thing, and it ain’t cutting it, so I’m going to try this other thing and see what happens. It fails, it fails, at least I tried.

So if I am not job hunting and if my other thing is not off ground then what, sit at home and be bored, poor and upset… hence “VUMILIA mama! just a little longer sweets, you have a lot on your plate right now, get that out of the way then get cracking

Today’s word of the day has been “count your blessings” and that I did on my ride to work, aloud in the car, like a mad woman beating away at the blues that want to make home in my mind.

That which has brought the hate for my job into focus is working with these new guys. Honest to God, there is nothing wrong with them at all, apart from what I said about, it’s just that we don’t gel and already I hate what I do, now add lack of chemistry and hey presto. But I am a fly chick, hot chick, tough chick. Tomorrow is my last day. Even if they beg and cry there is no way I am staying there next week. I want back at my other boring mundane job. At least I get to laugh and see my buddies.

So if you are having a tough ride at the moment, VUMILIA. It never ever last forever. That’s the beauty of life, nothing is static, everything changes in time and with time. It’s just a matter of time.

Kisses folks.

Comments on: "Woes on the Job" (7)

  1. Guessaurus said:

    I am sorry about your job but I was laughing so hard at the ball grabber that I stopped myself. Vumilia tu! Things can only get better – that is my motto nowadays too.

    Kisses back!

    • Nothing to be sorry about. I can actually say I am ok with the job, even though I hate it. Just needed to vent. Next week I am back at my normal work place and that is a good thing.

  2. That description of the ‘scratching’ is priceless. Why do some people do it. It is like picking your nose in public.

    Pole about your job and I pray and hope the ‘something else’ works out soon.It is amazing how in whatever position anyone is in right now, we are all trying to figure out how to work for ourselves.

    “But I am a fly chick, hot chick, tough chick” – Winning phrase 🙂

    Be very blessed.

    .

    • you have to see the ball grabbing for yourself. When I told Big Al about it, he laughed his head off and told me I should tell him “try using soap and water”.I was like…”aieh, Big Al, that’s a bit too much don’t you think”

      About the job.. no probs, like I said to Guessauraus, I needed to rant.

      blessings right back at you.

  3. VUMILIA, its easier said than done but in the end its worth. I wish you all the best in your mpango. Hugsies

    • Vumilia-ring is possible when other things in my life are ok. It’s just that now and then it gets to much, in this case the new work place. I have been reminding myself that so far most things I usually put a deadline to, usually work out… well… sort of..you know….. so my deadline on this job is almost up…watch this space.

      Meanwhile Big Al is encrouching on my “somethingelse / mpango” he is so into it that it is so nice and touching to see that he believes more in it than i do.

      hugz

  4. You know, you are an awesome writer. Ever thought of working from home, writing? Fro a while, i made extra cash working on http://www.elace.com, http://www.academia-research.com and http://www.helium.com, writing articles, researching, the like. While in US, i started selling stuff on ebay. Esp baby girl clothes from Gymboree…i would also go to flee markets and get knickknacks, books, etc and sell them too.

    I’m back to filming world so I can do all that part time, but its worth looking into. you get to work from home…

    Thank you for your compliment. As for the working from home, you have no idea how much I am working on that.. (in my head) but yes, that is my plan in the very near future. For now I really have a lot on my plate with the house and getting it sorted out. Once that is done, I am diving headfirst into my little “mpang” “home gig” because I have set a deadline on how long I will be working at my current place.

    Thanks for the tips, much appreiciated.

Leave a Reply

