A few things about me

Strange things

I have a new obsession, ok perhaps obsession is too strong a word,  “a strong liking for” would be more appropriate:

Jay Z is my new love. It all started like this. First I heard from a facebook friend about his new CD and how it had sold sijui how many copies on it’s debut. I was intrigued. Who is this rapper people are still listening to. That generation of rappers is gone; was my thought. I mean, who listens to P. Diddy anymore or LL. Cool J, si they are old news. Then Oprah had him on her show, her magazine and I was like.. “kwani.. this man” So off to Youtube I went and  lo and behold I found a concert he had done.. and so begun my love affair. I am in love, mpaka he is even looking hot! all buff and everything.  Then this weekend I found this other concert on Youtube by Alicia Keys and the last number is “Empire State of Mind! Yanniiiiiiiiiiii me I was in heaven. I have been bobbing my head like an idiot, singing about New York like I live there… truth be told, when she sings New York, I am busy screaming “Nai” (aka Nairobi)

Enjoy

 Before Koffi Olomide blew up, Dad, Step-mom and I used to go to which ever beach he would be playing at. Back in the day when akina Tabu Ley and Mbilia Mbel  used to come and play at Bomas of Kenya, we were there. Si those count as concerts ama🙂

Been to Miriam Makeba (RIP) when she was in Ug in the nineties. I have never been to an international star’s concert. Never made it to Shaggy’s concerts all the times he was in Ug. Either I was in Nairobi or out of East Africa at the time. Tina Turner is my all time favourtie. I am not big on music so it’s not something I invest in, but I do enjoy it. I own two CD’s and two DVD’s by Tina Turner. That shows how much I love her cause I hardly buy music. It’s like this; music or a book guess what comes out tops every time.

Enjoy

Comments on: "Strange things" (1)

  1. Eef Dee Eye said:

    Guilty! I still listen to LL Cool J. It’s like a bad habit I picked up in my teens still clinging on me. Not listened to Jay’s new album but I like the one track with Miss Keys. Probably I should try it one of this fine days

Leave a Reply

