A few things about me

Food and stories

Was smiling to myself on the way home cause I remembered a funny incident:

I was to meet a certain danish lady sometime last year. We had talked on the phone a number of times and finally had arranged the meeting. We agreed on the time and place. Her not knowing me and viceversa I said “I will be the tall black lady there” she giggled and said she would be the “strawberry blond in a brown jacket”.

I got the the venue before her and was waiting, she came in, headed for the only black lady and put out her hand “Hi, you must be Mrembo”. I smiled shook her hand and replied “you must be Anita”. She responded with “Yes that’s me, strawberry blond lady”.

Now me I was looking at her hair and I was thinking to myself “ok.. strawberries are red, so if you are a strawberry blond, I am thinking something reddish in your hair”. The hair in question was no where near red, but more like dark brown blond. That day I learned what strawberry blond looks like, though if you ask me to point it out, I will be like huh???

On facebook theres a fanclub called “farmers choice sausages are the tastiest” or something to that effect. That had me reminiscing. When I was back home in 2006..(it’s been long since I have been to Nairobi), one of the gals who lived with my mum at the time asked me to get her “smoky bili na chips”. I looked at her like..”eh, smoky.. hizo ni nini??” Mum piped up laughing

“aieh Mrembo, you don’t know what smokies are, even me I know ”

No one believed I did not know the term and refused to tell me what they were. Simply said ” nenda dukani, wambie wataka chips na smoky mbili”

That’s the day I found out smoky means sausage!

Talking about food, to my utter disgrace I put up my hand and admit I never learned to cook ugali, of all things I cannot cook a “cooked” ugali. To date my mum is scandalised, but appeasese herself by saying ” at the time you would have learned how to, you had already moved to Uganda”. When she was here in 2007 I made her cook ugali for me almost every lunch time and I would have it with maziwa mala (sour milk). Yup they have it here. Maziwa mala with sugar and ugali goes down really well.

I have been so bored with my own cooking and buying take out. I really need to eat someone else’s home made cooking. So since that is not feasible on a daliy basis, I decided to get some recipies and follow them to the “t”. That is an issue with me, I hardly ever follow a recipe to the as exacted cause I never have all the ingredients, so in the coming weeks I am making concerted effort to print the recipes and take them with me when I go grocery shopping so that I have all the ingredients. I have downloaded some interesting “southern cooking recipes” and intrestingly enough they all involve beans. Which should tell you something, I am hungering for beans and rice. Problem is, my husband and son.. yes, this little nearly 3 year old boy, do  not like beans. Ati I cook just beans and rice. There has to be some meat or as hubby says “something to beef it up”. Nikh just refuses to eat period.

So every time I cook beans, whatever kind, mung (dengu), pinto, blackeyed, I end up freezing the whole batch and eating them alone over a period of time.

Right now I am soooooo stuffed. at 12:00pm I went to the hospital cafeteria and had 2 pieces of chicken breast, 5 boiled potatoes, sauce and salad + cake for dessert. My stomach is sooooo stretched I am uncomfy. I was hungry when I ate! It’s now 16:34. NO supper for me

Have a foody day and tell me what you like to eat.

PS: The foods that I love best in no particular order

  • chai na mkate ( african home made tea with milk & sugar accompanied with  bread or as my husband likes me clarify, bread with butter and jam). If the bread is fresh and soft, mum and I have been known to demolish superloaf at one sitting of 4 o´clock tea.
  • Chips with ketchup. Ketchup is a must. Chips on thier own without ketchup do absolutely nothing for me. With ketchup, I can eat monday to monday 365 days a year baby.
  • Cake. A simple pound cake, no fancy creams or whatever, just simple fresh pound cake espeically straight from the oven, yum!
  • Simple rice and beef stew. Right now or rather tomorrow, the idea of the sukuma(kale) mixed in the beefstew with rice.. aha
  • Mum’s pilau is off the chain. My mum can cook pilau and I can make one hell of a kachumbari. That is Big Al’s request when mum visits or when he is in mum’s house

let me get back to my other duties

ciao!

Comments on: "Food and stories" (2)

  1. Hi Ms Mrembo,

    Before I start on my list of food I like, smokies are not sausages per se. More like lower quality…well I guess sausages – now I don’t think I have shed any light🙂 but they are not the same as sausages.

    My list of food I like;
    1. The original farmers choice pork sausages. If you want to bribe me this is it. I call them my stress busters!
    2. Ugali and Sukuma wiki. Cooked plain and simple, no excess flavours, not even royco. Better even without tomatoes, just onions.
    3. Githeri – with green maize not the hard maize – simply friend
    4.Yoghurt – Bio-yoghurt by bio-foods kenya. Tropical mix or peach flavours.
    5. Rice and Ndengu (mung beans)
    6. Pilau – the coasterian type (which I can’t cook)
    7. last and the most important. Tea. Kenyan tea. KETEPA preferably. Again the simple original type without any flavours is the best.

  2. Smokies are not sausages. Smokies are ‘smoked’ sausages. Makes sense?

Leave a Reply

