A few things about me

Food

For six weeks someone else was responsible for thinking about what to cook the cooking process.  For six weeks the only thing I had to do with food and a kitchen was simply eat or wash dishes.

Now  back in my own home, I can’t seem to find my feet or rather head and hands around my kitchen. “What shall we have for supper” is such a tedious process. My three attempts at cooking have been disaster.

I need to get my cooking mojo pronto!

So what’s for dinner tonight?

PS. all the spices, veggies etc.. taste more than they do here. Even sugar is sweeter. One and half teaspoons of sugar in my tea in Kenya is almost too much. Here I need to have 2 spoons of sugar. The salt ain’t salty enough. I swear I am not exaggerating. Food at home seems to have more intensity and flavour.  The onions and garlic, don’t smell the same. The tomatoe just doesn’t tomatoe when you cook it…know what I mean.  I am begining to buy into the whole “plant it yourself” or buy from a small scale “organic” farmer.

Oh and I did get my son hooked on Kenyan sausages. Yes there is nothing like the Kenyan Farmer’s choice sausage🙂

Comments on: "Food" (3)

  1. bemused said:

    I get it about the food. I experienced the same thing. In the west, the intensity of the flavors has been bred out of the food, so that it can be transported further. Also, alot of the veggies are picked before they are ripe, and they “ripen” on the way.
    Most of the food in Nairobi is good, but there is even better. We export even better fruit. I used to work in the horticulture industry, and if you taste the food we export.. you will never want to eat the food in the Western supermarkets.
    I lost 15 kg when I first left Kenya. The food was so unpalatable, I could not eat.

    • I know what you mean. I am still trying to find my way around the kitchen. I hope tonight’s rice and beans turn out good.

  2. nice website lots of information thank you

Leave a Reply

