A few things about me

Hello World

The newest addition to our small family was born five days ago. She weighed in at 3.810kgs and 56cm long (though I think the midwife was not very accurate in her measuring).

She is GORGEOUS. Smells deliciously of baby, has the roundest cheeks and me thinks I have seen a dimple wink at me now and then. She is named after my mother.

Her blog name is KK  and she is saying

Hello world!

The big difference this time round is knowledge of what to expect. I am more relaxed and prepared. My milk just started flowing yesterday so some of the anxiety I had been feeling has abated.

 The birthing process this time was without injury (thank you Yesu). Last time was a nightmare.  It included trips back to the doctor for restitching (let your imagination run wild).

 Lord knows this time it was PAINFUL. First time I had an epidural. The midwife insisted. I had been in labour like forever and she was like. … “you need the epidural cause when time comes you will too tired to push”. I had put her off a number of times but later agreed cause I was tired. This time round there was no epidural. In the midst of pushing I growled at the midwife “give me the epidural” and she is like “it is too late and it won’t help now”. I was a ninja. My husband has been in awe of me… he was like “you are tough” and I am like “damn right I am”. My friend N tells me that in England one gets offered “air and gas” to inhale and one is high like a kite when giving birth🙂. Nothing like that here. You get a warm bottle, hot bath, some kind of accupuncture with water under the skin which is painful but apprently because it offsets the production of endorphins it lessens the pain of labour, I was not sold on the idea. I was in pain enough.  Epidural is like the last option offered and that has to be done before the real pushing begins.

When all is said and done we are both doing well. She loves to sleep. Big Al and I had joked a lot about it saying that we would probably get a baby who sleeps a lot and we would be worrying if she is ok because with Nikh I never got to sleep. But right now it’s too early to tell. Time will tell. I will say though that I am better rested than I had expected. Big Al is currently on his 2 week maternity leave. Once he returns to work, then my life begins for real. Right now I am like a queen and he my personal slave. I am loving it lol!

Comments on: "Hello World" (9)

  1. Congratulations! I thought so, after you hiatus. mwambie amesalimiwa na Ssenga PKW (I will teach her things!)

  2. Congratulations!!!

  3. congratulations!!!…enyewe you is a soldier! :-)…stitching in places?..and i have just fainted…anyho,good on ya ;-)…the rest of us cowards will just go on pushing those baby-making agendas further down the list…hehehe

  4. awwwww congratulations!

  5. Congratulations Mrembo , fam and welcome to Earth KK. All the best with the little one.

  6. Congratulations! Congratulations! I have heard horror stories on wrong stitching so *shiver*! I am glad this time went smoother. Congratulations to you and your family.

  7. thank you all for the kind comments

  8. Congrats!! thanks for sharing your birth story. I am expecting my first in November and not looking foward to the painful part of it. I live the US and the Epidural is the norm. When you say you want to go med free you get funny looks. Not to mention inductions are also frequent because the doctors want to avoid huge babies and work around their schedule and they also try to force unecessary C-sections. Some women have home births just to avoid all the hospital drama.

  9. Congratulations Mrembo.

    A great balance there- boy then girl.

    The best to Big Al and the little ones

Leave a Reply

